Why I Already Pre-ordered The iPhone 13 Pro Max

Even though I already have the iPhone 12 Pro Max. And you might be thinking, Oh no, not another iPhone Fan. And I truly understand where that’s coming from. But please, hear me out.

AMIR BENDABI
5 min readSep 20, 2021
Picture made by Apple

So September the 14th was the day Apple revealed their newest and greatest iPhones ever (The way Apple always likes to call it). And I already preordered this new iPhone. But why in the world would I order this iPhone if I already have the iPhone 12 Pro Max, you might be asking.

And I don’t blame you if you would ask this question. This new iPhone is not much different from its previous model. As a matter of fact, the previous model is as powerful as the new one, and it has all the features this new iPhone has. So why on earth would I even be willing to spend, yet again, another $1099 on this device?

Well, it’s because of the following. The very first reason is that I need to. I started TryThisTech a couple of months ago to review tech products; to be more precise, Apple products. And therefore, I need to get my hands on any product Apple launches.

So yeah, you’ve guessed it right, a pretty expensive hobby that might be. And it is a costly one as well. But I genuinely love every moment of it. So unboxing products and giving you guys a more detailed explanation of it seems an enjoyable habit. So I’m planning on maintaining it no matter the cost.

That camera literally blew my mind

The second reason is because of the camera and the features that come along with it. Like the previous models, the iPhone 13 can record videos in 4K at 24, 25, 30, and 60 frames per second. Nothing new here. But what’s different, though, is the fact that you now can shoot in cinematic mode. How cool is that! I might be a bit overenthusiastic about it, but this feature might be the beginning of the new way of recording videos. Apple literally gave us the possibility to shoot top-notch videos with a small budget.

And if that’s not enough, the iPhone 13 Pro is able to shoot in 4K ProRes. ProRes is a video format developed by Apple, and it basically means that the videos are, at first, in a lossy compression format, but in post, you can get the resolution up to 8K.

But there is a catch that you need to be aware of. The base model iPhone Pro doesn’t have this feature. And this goes for both the iPhone Pro as the iPhone Pro MAX. So keep in mind that if you are planning on buying the 128GB iPhone Pro, its camera CANNOT shoot in 4K ProRes. I’m not sure why Apple went for this approach, but if I might guess, I think it’s because of the data these files require. And the 128 GB of storage is simply not enough for these video files.

Okay, there is just one thing about that camera that might be a bit weird and kind of in the way, but I think we should deal with it. Of course, I’m talking about that camera bump here, which means that your iPhone will always have a wobble when you put it on a flat surface (such as a desk or a table). But a case can solve this problem — something I highly recommend, given the astronomical price tag hanging on this iPhone.

Picture made by Apple

That display is just Whoa

Okay, having a good camera shouldn’t be the only reason someone would like to upgrade to this new iPhone, right? That’s totally true. If it was just because of the camera, I might not have upgraded. I think the display is the second objection why I would love to have my hands on the iPhone 13 Pro. I mean, a Super Retina XDR with ProMotion, an OLED Display, a refresh rate up to 120Hz, a display that’s outdoors 25% brighter. So no more hiding those sun rays to read your text messages.

So you just read ProMotion, and you might be thinking: what in the world is ProMotion. It’s basically a software feature that’s related to that 120Hz refresh rates I just talked about. So let me explain how this technology works.

Let me start with that “Hz” abbreviation. Hz stands for Hertz, and it’s a measurement unit for electromagnetic waves, and it’s basically one cycle per second. This unit can be applied to any periodic event. Think of a human heart that’s beating every few seconds.

That being said, can we say that the 120 Hz refresh rate of the iPhone 13 Pro display is basically the amount of time per second its display can show a new image. In this case, the iPhone 13 can show the image up to 120 times per second. But what is ProMotion then, exactly?

Well, to put it in the word of Apple, Promotion can be described as:

A new [display] technology that delivers refresh rates of up to 120Hz for fluid scrolling, greater responsiveness and smoother motion content. With ProMotion, Apple Pencil is even more responsive with an industry-best, 20-millisecond latency for even more fluid and natural drawing. ProMotion also improves display quality and reduces power consumption by automatically adjusting the display refresh rate to match the movement of the content.

And that last sentence is a very important one. It “reduces power consumption by automatically adjusting the display refresh rate to match the movement of the content”. Meaning that a phone that’s running 120 Hz all the time will consume way more battery than the iPhone.

And that’s basically it. I haven’t touched on anything new the iPhone 13 and 13 Pro will deliver. Think of the smaller notch, that beautiful new color, the display brightness, etc. But I will leave that when I have the phone in my hand. That’s when I will be able to give you guys a more thorough review.

--

--

AMIR BENDABI

I like geeking, reviewing, and writing about Apple products. So I hope you enjoy my work half as much as I enjoy informing you about it.